Fairbanks

Fairbanks
My vacation is almost over. I can’t believe how fast these 11 days have gone by. It was just a year ago I was planning this trip and beginning my countdown.

We arrived in Fairbanks around noon and headed to the Riverboat Discovery Tour. Princess ships weren’t the only ones there. NCL and Holland American also came by bus. We moved into a large dining hall that served lunch family style and picnic type tables. They served a stew, some type of soup, pasta salad and a brownie. The soup and stew were served in large cast iron pots and the stew was really good.

Once lunch was over we got in line to get on the large paddlewheel boat and went down the river. There were some incredible homes along the shore (photos below). As we went down the river, there were people on the shore giving demonstrations. One was showing puppies at a training camp for dogs for dog sledding. They were so cute and I got my puppy fix. Farther down the river they stopped and showed how the tribes smoked fish at a fish camp. At one point we got off the boat and went to shore and went to different areas to get presentations on how the native Alaskans survived by hunting and making pelts. We got back on the boat and headed up the river. It started raining when we were going through presentations so once on the boat it was warm and I started falling asleep.

We finally got to the hotel and fortunately my suitcase was in my room. I went down to one of the restaurants and grabbed a quick dinner and came back upstairs. I have to have my suitcase outside my room by 5am and catch the transfer at 6:30 to the airport for my 8:40 flight.

I will admit I am looking forward to going home to see my family and my Charlie, but I would do it all again in a heartbeat. I will come back to Alaska. There is still so much I didn’t see. I’m not sure if I would do a cruise or if I did, I would do the land portion first and then relax on the cruise. You really enjoy the luxury of unpacking once instead of living out of a suitcase. I would love to go to the Kenai area, Copper River, Sitka and Seward.

I met a lot of great people on this trip from around the world. Some I know I will be friends with for a long time. This trip was the most incredible experience of my life and I’m sorry it’s over. Monday its back to reality.

20130914-080551.jpg

20130914-080606.jpg

20130914-080624.jpg

20130914-080638.jpg

Leave a Reply

