The Beginning of the trip of a Lifetime

I can’t believe the day has finally arrived. After over 300 days and counting, I am now sitting in the airport waiting to catch my first flight to Seattle and on to Vancouver. I’ve purchased internet on the plane so that I can still play on my iPad and possibly watch a movie.

The trip was pretty uneventful. Two hour layover in Seattle and hopped on a prop jet plane. The trip was so quick to Vancouver they don’t even do a beverage service. I haven’t had to go outside and climb stairs to get on a plan since the 60’s.

When I got to San Diego Airport, I was so sure my bathroom scale was going to be off that I had them weigh my suitcase again and sure enough it was below 50 lbs. Now schlepping that thing around the Vancouver airport and to the different tower here at the hotel it felt like 150.

Having had to lift that sucker a couple of times, I’ve thrown my back out a bit. I’ve popped two Aleeve and will take a hot shower. I want to walk around the city a bit in the morning before I head to the ship. Now I know for sure I won’t be walking to the ship; I’m paying for a cab.

Speaking of cabs, good God these cab drivers drive like maniacs. I read somewhere that it was about a 35 to 40 minute ride from the airport to the hotel. I don’t think so the way this guy drove. I couldn’t look out the front window. All I kept seeing was brake lights. Then his phone range and he was looking all over the front seat for his headphones. Thank God the ride tomorrow is very short.

I’m going to eat my club sandwich and wait for the Aleeve to kick in. More tomorrow once I get on board the ship.

Here is a shot from the 27th floor of my hotel room.

20130827-184148.jpg

Leave a Reply

