One week down…..

Today I finished my first week of radiation.  So far, it hasn’t been bad.    I already got the burn starting and as of today it has turned into a tan.  The first tan in decades.  🙂  Unfortunately or fortunately, however you want to look at it, I can’t wear a bra since it rubs in the burn area.  YAHOOO!  Finally a legitimate excuse for going braless.  The girls are free!!!

Maxine Girls Night Out

I’ve started to get a routine down:  first thing in the morning I put on the lotion I got to minimize the burn, drive to La Jolla, take of my top, put on the gown and robe, wait to be called and go into the room.    Below is a picture of the machine similar to the one I  am in each day.  Once I am in the room, I take off the robe and lay down on the table.  They line up the marks on my chest and leave the room.  The machine rotates from one side to the other for 30 seconds each and I’m done.  I’m literally in and out of the radiation center in less than 20 minutes.  Once I get home, Charlie and I head out for our walk.  Hopefully I’ll be able to keep it up with the walks.   I’m just not sure how the side effects will hit me.

trilogy-small

The three ladies that work in the Sierra Treatment room are so nice.  Everyone so far that I have come in contact with since being diagnosed has been wonderful and supportive.

Thank you also to all my friends and family for the well wishes, prayers and cards.  It is appreciated more than you know.

2 thoughts on “One week down…..

  1. Always in my thoughts and prayers my friend. Overjoyed that everything is going well and that you are surrounded by a marvelous medical team. Love and hugs….

Leave a Reply

