One down, 32 more to go

Today was my first radiation treatment.  Once I got all marked up again with water soluble ink and I was ready to go.  Today took a little longer that it will for the rest of the treatments but all in all it’s a very quick process.  I can breathe but can’t move.  You have to keep your arms above your head and can’t move them down.  Of course my nose started to inch.  They told me to begin the aloe vera lotion as soon as I got home and use it 3 times a day.  I just can’t use it 2 hours before treatment.

When I left they gave me my schedule for the next 32 sessions.  I go every week day at 10:15 am.  The last 5 sessions are the boost sessions.

I’ll have to wait and see how my body and skin reacts to treatment.

Yesterday I got a call from Dr. Bernstein’s office with the results from my bone density test.  Turns out I have Osteopenia in one of  my legs.  This is the beginning before Osteoporosis.  Great, another plus to going through menopause early.  I guess I’ll have to increase my calcium intake, along with milk and more green vegetables.  Right now this is the least of my worries.  🙂

 

Leave a Reply

