I’m a little overwhelmed at the moment

It’s been three days since I’ve learned I have breast cancer and to say that I’m a bit overwhelmed is an understatement.   I’ve been researching and learning whatever I can so I can, hopefully, have an enlightened conversation with my doctor on Thursday.  I’ve been reading about treatment, surgeries (Yuck), radiation, chemotherapy (Double Yuck!) and I’ve also been reading up on my doctor.  Based on what I’ve read and seen on videos, I think I’m going to be in excellent hands.

Another thing that has overwhelmed me is health insurance.  I was speaking with my HR Director the other day, after he heard about my news, and he asked if I was happy with my insurance.  My response was, “Is anyone ever really happy with their insurance?”  I think going through all of this and dealing with my health insurance is going to be a learning experience in itself.  Here’s hoping that will be a smooth process.

Lastly, I am extremely overwhelmed by the love and support I have received from the people around me.  Your words of love and support have filled me with hope and helped ease my anxiety of the upcoming months.   I have had offers from friends and family to accompany me to the doctor this Thursday, but I’ve decided to go alone.  I want to be able to focus on what the doctor tells me without worrying about reactions from someone who comes with me.  I plan on taking notes and recording the visit on my phone.

This will become my mantra for the next few months and something I am extremely proud of.  Thank you Crystal.

574713_10200717807209923_1074642251_n

2 thoughts on “I’m a little overwhelmed at the moment

  1. Julie, you will be in my thoughts and prayers daily. Much love going out to you, it is a very tough battle, but you are even tougher. Please let me know if there is anything at all I can do to help out please. I would be happy to do anything I can for you!! Much love, Mary xo

Leave a Reply

