The three dreaded words…..”You have Cancer”.

Today, the wait was over.  I finally heard from the doctor.

I had been waiting since Monday to learn what the results of the biopsy was but Monday was a holiday and I learned the doctor wouldn’t be back in the office until Wednesday.  So at 1:30 I got the call.  You know the conversation isn’t going to be good when the doctor starts off, “I wish I had better news for you”.  She proceeded to tell me I have Ductal Carcinoma In Situ.  According to the Susan G. Komen Website:  “Ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS) is a non-invasive breast cancer. In DCIS, abnormal cells are contained in the milk ducts. It is called “in situ” (which means “in place”) because the cells have not left the milk ducts to invade nearby breast tissue. DCIS is also called intraductal (within the milk ducts) carcinoma. You may also hear the term “pre-invasive breast carcinoma” to describe DCIS.  Surgery (with or without radiation therapy) is recommended for the treatment of all DCIS. Prognosis is usually excellent.”

I guess if you have to get breast cancer, that’s the one to get.  I have an appointment with a breast surgeon next Thursday to see what the next course of action will be.  From what I have read (thank God for the internet!), the following are recommended treatments:

  • Lumpectomy followed by radiation therapy: This is the most common treatment for DCIS. Lumpectomy is sometimes called breast-conserving treatment because most of the breast is saved.
  • Mastectomy: Mastectomy, or removal of the breast, is recommended in some cases.
  • Lumpectomy alone
  • Hormonal therapy after surgery: These treatments, which block or lower the amount of estrogen in the body, are typically used if the DCIS tests positive for hormone receptors.

I’m still absorbing a lot right now.  I do know that due to my rigid and obsessive control of my annual exams, this was caught early.  Yes, the “Panini Press” is not an enjoyable experience but thank God I go every year.  GET YOUR MAMMOGRAMS!!!  I can’t stress that enough. 

Now to wait another week to see what is next.

3 thoughts on “The three dreaded words…..”You have Cancer”.

  1. Pingback: The three dreaded words…..”You have Cancer”.

Leave a Reply

