Waiting is the hardest part

Yesterday was the day I had been dreading.  Waking up in the morning, I had the worse headache and was unable to take anything for it.  As usual my imagination was so much worse than the actual biopsy.  I just wish I had had someone to talk to that had gone through the same thing to ease my fears.   Going in, I was terrified; I don’t do well with “procedures”.

Now that it’s over, I can talk about it without making myself ill.  I thought I would share my experience in case anyone else going in for the same thing will know what to expect.  Even though Rebekha, the nurse who I spoke to the day before, told me the process, it’s not the same unless you go through it for yourself.

When I got into the room, they had me take off my top and put on the infamous gown that opens in the front.  The radiologist that was scheduled to do my procedure was running behind so I had to wait for another one.  Of course they had me wait alone in the room for 15 minutes.  Not the best idea to leave me alone with my thoughts just waiting…..

Finally, he came in and explained to me what he was going to do.  He showed me the multiple spots they found on my last mammogram and that when they were in there doing the biopsy, they would try to get the majority of them out.  Once they were done removing them, they would then insert a clip to mark where they been removed.  My first question was, “Would I set off metal detectors?”  He said that’s the same question all women ask and the answer was no.   He then began to say that as they were going through the process he would keep me fully informed.  I turned to him and said, “Ah, please don’t.  It will only make me ill”.  We did agree that he would tell me when the needles would go in and that would be it.  Rebeckha gave me the Zanax I asked for and it began.  I was hoping the Zanax would help my headache.

They had me hop on this odd table, face down so my left breast falls into this hole.  They then compressed it between these two metal pieces to hold it in place.  In my mind I’m thinking, “Oh great they’re going to squeeze the hell out of it like a mammogram”, but it was fine.  She did say that once I’m in that position,  I can’t move.  Trying to find a comfortable position on my stomach and placing my arms just right was the worst part of the whole procedure.

Next they swabbed me with Betadine.  He then announces the needle with Lidocaine would be inserted.  Well, I thought for sure this was going to hurt; not at all.  Not even the infamous burning you’re supposed to feel.  As he’s inserting it, Rebeckha had a hand on the small of my back and was holding my other hand.  I can’t tell you how comforting that was.  I think she knew from the moment I went into the room how scared I was.   Then the needle biopsy went in, just slight pressure but still no pain.  Popping and vacuuming sounds continue in the background and the doctor says, “We’re half way done”.  Geez can’t you just say we’re done?!  Before I knew it, we were done.   I had to rest there for a few minutes while they bandaged me up but at least I could finally move my arms.

I then had to go and have a follow up mammogram so they have on record where the clip was placed.

I found this video on YouTube that shows what I went through.  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aOJahVP0qCo

Once it was all over, my whole body was shaking but it was over.  Now comes the wait.  They told me the results were going to one of the faster labs and I should hear at the earliest on Monday or the latest Tuesday or Wednesday.

Waking up this morning, I had the pain they warned me about.  And I still can only take Tylenol.  Please, that does nothing for me.  I guess I’ll keep icing that sucker down and hope the pain subsides.  It’s going to be a long weekend.

Why is it that every commercial I see on TV right now is either for Cancer Treatments Centers or the Breast Cancer 3-Day.

Positive thoughts.

Leave a Reply

