Every Woman’s Worst Fear

Anyone that knows me, knows how diligent I am when it comes to my health and annual exams.  I go religiously for my annual OBGYN, mammogram, teeth cleanning and general physical every year.  In the past, when I’ve gone for my mammograms, I’ve been called back before for a “closer look” but the word “biopsy” was never mentioned until now.

When the doctor called me a week ago, she said they can’t determine what they see in the second mammogram so I have to go in for a biopsy.  My doctor isn’t the warm and fuzzy type, and that’s okay, I’ve gotten used to it.  She matter of factly mentioned that she had just had one herself that past Friday.   She said that 90% of these come back negative so that was good news.

So far I’ve been lucky to be the only one in my family who hasn’t had Cancer so I’m trying to keep a positive thought that my luck will hold out.  Right now my fear is the actual procedure not the result.  Once I get through that, I’m sure the anxiety of the results will kick in.

It’s going to be a very long week.  Here’s to good thoughts.

 

Leave a Reply

