Please, thank you and other archaic common courtesies…..

Recently I’ve come to notice that common courtesies like please and thank you don’t seem to be around much anymore.  This post will probably turn into a rant but it’s something that has been bothering me for some time.

When I was young and I received a gift from an out of town family member, I was told I needed to send them a thank you note.  Now this was done the old fashioned way of writing it on a card and sending it through snail mail.  Now a days we have email and text as a way of communicating  and even with these modern conveniences, they still get missed.

  • In my previous post on Online Dating, I’ve noticed that even if you don’t know someone,  most of the guys I’ve complimented or emailed, can’t even hit the “not interested button”.  They just ignore the message or block me.
  • Another pet peeve I have is people not waiting for people to get off the elevator before they get on.  Or how about letting ladies get off the elevator first.
  • Thanking someone for doing a good job in a tough or stressful situation.

I’m sure I have more but these are the first few that came to mind.

Let me know what some of yours are.

 

Leave a Reply

